Carl Hiaasen Biography -Current life, early life, Novels and His Achievements, parents, story, wife, school, career

Carl Hiaasen

Facts About Carl Hiaasen

Celebrated Name Carl Hiaasen
Age 69 Years Old
Nick Name Carl Hiaasen
Birth Name Carl Hiaasen
Birth Date 1953-03-12
Gender Male
Profession Writer
Place Of Birth Plantation, FL
Horoscope Pisces
Nationality American
Awards John Newbery Medal, Dilys Award, Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award, Agatha Awards for Best Children/Young Adult Book Series

Carl Hiaasen is a very popular and professional American  Novel writer. He has written more than 25 novels which are very popular worldwide and classified as humorous crime fiction and environmentalism and political corruption. He had divorced with his previous wife Connie Lyford with one child and his present spouse name is Fenia Clizer with one child.

Early Life

Carl Hiaasen, an American professional writer was born in March 12, 1953 and raised in city of Plantation, Florida. Carl Hiaasen is the son of Odel (an attorney) and Patricia (a teacher). He was the first children among four, born to his parents. His father brought him a typewriter and he started to write at the age of six. He graduated his high school from Plantation high school. Then, he joined to the Emory University from 1970 to 1972. After that he was transferred to the University of Florida. There he wrote for The Independent Florida Alligator which is the daily student newspaper. Then, He graduated from there with the degree of Journalism in 1974.

Career Life

Carl Hiaasen started his career by joining the Miami herald, a daily newspaper as a general assignment reporter in 1976. He went to the work for the weekly newspapers magazines and prize winning investigative team. He has been regular journalist columnist for the newspaper since 1985. Being regular columnist, his columns have been take into three published volumes named as Kick in 1999, Paradise Screwed in 1991 and Dance of the Reptiles in 2014. Carl Hiaasen started writing novels after becoming an investigative reporter. He began writing novels in early 1980s with his friend journalist, William D. Montalbano in spare time. Then, together they wrote three books which are classified as mystery thrillers named as: Powder Burn in 1981, Trap Line in 1982 and A Death in China in 1984 which was the great motivation for them to write even more. After that he wrote his solo novel “Tourist Season” which was published in 1986, featuring a group of eco-warriors who kidnap the Orange Bowl Queen. Then, his next novel “Double Whammy” was about sex, murder and corruption.

Novels and His Achievements

Hiaasen himself is also the writer of several popular novels. He himself write novels for focusing on the young readers such as Hoot (2002), Flush (2005), Scat (2009), Skink (2014), squirm (2018). He has also written many Audit fictions Novels, Nonfiction Novels, Short stories, etc. His popular novels are Skinny Dip, Bad Monkey, Sick Puppy, Razor Girl, Nature Girl, etc. His novel Razor Girl was short listed in England for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse award for the comic fiction which was his great achievement. He had received many awards and achievements from his novel such as Newbery honor from the Association for Library Service To children for novel Hoot, National book Award, Dagger award Nominee and so on.

Current Life

Today, his column appears in the Herald’s opinion and editorial section on Sundays. It can be viewed online easily on His books feature environmental subject matters, castes and different plots which are filled by adventure for the young book readers. Among all, 18 novels and books have been listed on the best seller on New York Times which has been translated in 34 languages worldwide. Recently, his brother, Rob Hiaasen, a manager editor and columnist at the capital newspaper in Annapolis, Maryland was shot and killed in a mass shooting at the newspaper's office on June 28, 2018 which was very sad news for him. Recently, he had written new novel named Squirm which was expected to release in September 25, 2018 which is entertaining novel involving grizzlies, missing dad, snakes and more.