The Best FIFA Football Awards Finalists

FIFA Award

The Best FIFA Football Awards Finalists

FIFA has announced their nominations for this year's The Best FIFA Awards. Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won the Men's Best Player award twice in 2016 and 2017 is once again the finalists to claim the award. Alongside Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, and Virgil van Dijk are the top three nominees for the Men's Best Player award. Cristiano Ronaldo won Serie A and Supercoppa Italiana with Juventus and inaugural UEFA Nations League with Portugal. Luka Modric dominated every major last year, winning FIFA Men's Player Award last year. 

Who won the Best Fifa Football Awards 2019? Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe

FIFA Award


Virgil van Dijk has already won the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award last month, having voted ahead of two other finalists, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Lionel Messi. This year, he is one of the favorite players to win FIFA Best Player Award and Ballon d'Or as well. Liverpool defender Van Dijk surely deserved to win the award or being included in the top 3 nominees for his achievements last season. Whereas, Lionel Messi had one of the best seasons last year in terms of personal performances. He won La Liga with Barcelona, but lost Copa del Rey to Valencia in the final, and lost UEFA Champions League to Liverpool in the semi-finals.

FIFA Awards


Premier League managers dominated the Men's Best Coaches award this year. Pep Guardiola led Manchester City to Premier League title, whereas Jurgen Klopp led Liverpool to UEFA Champions League trophy and a second-place finish in the Premier League last season. Mauricio Pochettino led Tottenham Hotspur to their first-ever UEFA Champions League final, where they lost to Jurgen Klopp's Liverpool. 

Alisson Becker, Ederson, and Ter Stegen will compete for The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper award this year. 

FIFA Award


In women's category, Lucy Bronze, who has recently been crowned as UEFA Women's Player of the Year winner will compete against Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe of the United States for The Best FIFA Women's Player award. 

The Best FIFA Awards is scheduled to take place on 23 September 2019 in Milan, Italy. The nominees for this year's Best FIFA Player awards are listed below: 

The Best FIFA Men's Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

FIFA Awards


The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper

Alisson Becker (Liverpool and Brazil)

Ederson (Manchester City and Brazil)

Ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)

FIFA Puskas Award

Lionel Messi (against Real Betis on 17 March 2019)

Juan Fernando Quintero (against Racing on 10 February 2019)

Daniel Zsori (against Ferencvaros on 16 February 2019)

The Best FIFA Men's Coach

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)

The Best FIFA Women's Player

Lucy Bronze (Lyon and England)

Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride and the United States)

Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC and the United States)

FIFA Award Goalkeeper


The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper

Christaine Endler (PSG and Chile)

Hedvig Lindahl (Vfl Wolfsburg and Sweden)

Sari van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid and the Netherlands)

The Best FIFA Women's Coach

Jill Ellis (United States)

Phil Neville (England)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

FIFA Fan Award

Silvia Greco (Palmeiras matches)

Justo Sanchez (Rampla Juniors matches)

Netherlands fans (2019 FIFA Women's World Cup)