Who won the Best Fifa Football Awards 2019? Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe

The Best FIFA Football Awards is one of the prestigious awards in football, which is given annually to the best footballer of the year in several categories. FIFA collaborated with France Football Federation in 2010 to award FIFA Ballon d’Or until their partnership ended in 2015. France Football Federation continued their Ballon d’Or awards while FIFA started The Best FIFA Men’s Player. Portuguese striker, Cristiano Ronaldo won first two The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award. Croatian midfielder Luka Modric won 2018 The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award.

The selection criteria for the men’s players of the year were: respective achievements during the period from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019. The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 was held on 23 September 2019 at the Teatro Alla Scala in Milan, Italy. Former Dutch footballer Ruud Gullit and Ilaria D’Amico hosted the award show. Van Dijk, Lionel Messi, and Cristiano Ronaldo were nominated top 3 players for Men’s best player award. 

FIFA Awards

Source: @independent.co.uk

Lionel Messi Biography

Lionel Messi wins The Best Men’s Player of the Year

Lionel Messi beat Van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo to win his first The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award. He won the award with 46 rank points. Virgil Van Dijk, having already won UEFA Men’s Best Player Award this year, was favorited to win FIFA Award this year. However, Messi successfully bagged the award and he surely deserved it. Van Dijk received 38 rank points and Ronaldo with 36 rank points. Despite winning only La Liga title for Barcelona, Messi’s individual performance throughout the season was enough to win him the award. Messi had won the European Golden Shoe as well.

FIFA Awards

Source: @eurosport.co.uk

Who is Daniel Zsori, FIFA Puskas Award 2019 Winner?

Cristiano Ronaldo’s achievements for the club and the country this year was enough for him to be named the top 3 nominees, but was not good enough to win his 3rd The Best FIFA Men’s Player award. Neither was Virgil van Dijk’s Champions League triumph was enough to win his first The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award. Messi’s goal was also top 3 nominated for this year’s Puskas Award, which Daniel Zsori won for his goal against Ferenvaros on 16 February 2019.

FIFA Awards

Source: @ussoccer.com

Megan Rapinoe Biography

In the women’s category, American national team and Reign FC captain Megan Rapinoe won The Best FIFA Women’s Player award. She received 46 rank points ahead of national teammate Alex Morgan and English defender Lucy Bronze. Rapinoe had helped the US national team to win 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where she also won the Golden Boot with 6 goals and the best player of the tournament, Golden Ball. 

FIFA Awards

Source: @mirror.co.uk

Jurgen Klopp Biography

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 Here is the list of all The Best FIFA Football Awards for this year.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award – Lionel Messi

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper- Allison Becker 

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach – Jurgen Klopp 

The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award – Megan Rapinoe

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper – Sari van Veenendaal

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach – Jill Ellis

FIFA Puskas Award – Daniel Zsori

FIFA Fair Play Award – Marcelo Biesla and the Leeds United squad

FIFA Fan Award –  Silvia Grecco

FIFA Awards

Source: @timesnownews.com

FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11 for this year:

Allison Becker (Goalkeeper)

Sergio Ramos (Defender)

Matthijs de Ligt (Defender)

Virgil van Dijk (Defender)

Marcelo (Defender)

Eden Hazard (Midfielder)

Frenkie de Jong (Midfielder)

Luka Modric (Midfielder)

Lionel Messi (Forward)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Forward)

Kylian Mbappe (Forward)

FIFA FIFPro Women’s World 11 for this year

Sari van Veenendaal (Goalkeeper)

Lucy Bronze (Defender)

Wendie Renard (Defender)

Nilla Fischer (Defender)

Kelley O’Hara (Defender)

Amandine Henry (Midfielder)

Julie Ertz (Midfielder)

Rose Lavelle (Midfielder)

Marta (Forward)

Alex Morgan (Forward)

Megan Rapinoe (Forward)

Leave a Comment